Official Portal

1461187 736120143083463 1950774883 n CENTER FOR SPORTS AND CULTURE


UMP Teams Competed in Kuantan District Volleyball Championship

Kuantan, 22 April- The Men’s Volleyball Team (Students) and the Women’s Volleyball Team (Staff) each grabbed the 4th place in their respective categories in the Volleyball Championship of the Invitational League 2017 which was co-organized by FIT Malaysia, SMK Tanah Putih, The BLAZE Volleyballl Club and the District of Kuantan Youth and Sports Office, held at SMK Tanah Putih and SJK(C) Chung Ching in Kuantan. Both teams bagged home a medal for each player and cash prizes.

Nine men’s teams and seven women’s teams from all over Kuantan battled for the championship this year. The UMP teams’ path to glory was never easy because the UMP players had to compete with other teams which had players who were playing for the state of Pahang. The UMP teams’ participation received full support from the Centre for Sports & Culture or Pusat Sukan & Kebudayaan (PSK) of UMP.

According to the Manager of the Women’s Volleyball Team (Staff), this championship had targeted participants from all over Kuantan; other teams from outside were also invited to make this sport popular in the district of Kuantan.

“This championship is able to foster close ties among players of different ethnicities and encourage the participation of senior players as well as motivate junior players to compete fairly apart from identifying new talents in volleyball while maintaining healthy competitions,” said the manager, who targeted at least a bronze medal for the women’s team in the Malaysian University Sports Championship or Kejohanan Sukan Universiti Malaysia (SUKUM) 2017 to be held later this year.

The first place in the men’s category went to the Titanz team while the title for the women’s category was won by the Xysters team. The UMP teams had to succumb to the 4th place to the mightier Xysters, Coral C and Cherish teams.  The event was graced by the Vice President of the Kuantan Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Dato’ Yau Swe Hin who presented the awards to the winners. Also present was Dato’ Andrew Wong Kean Hwee, the Special Officer to the Minister of Transport, Dato’ Sri Liow Tiong Lai.